ispCP - Board - Support
Temporary customer URL ? - Printable Version

+- ispCP - Board - Support (http://www.isp-control.net/forum)
+-- Forum: ispCP Omega Support Area (/forum-30.html)
+--- Forum: Usage (/forum-34.html)
+--- Thread: Temporary customer URL ? (/thread-1533.html)



Temporary customer URL ? - Eminos - 10-15-2007 09:12 AM

Hi,

I would like to be able to give my customers temporary URLs for use before their DNSs gets propageted.

Something like:
userdomain.com.customer.myhosting.com
OR
customer.myhosting.net/~userdomain.com

The later one can be achived by a how-to for VHCS, but this doesn't work in ISPCP, I guess due to fcgi and permissions and stuff like that.
( http://vhcs.puuhis.net/wiki/index.php/Temporary_address_to_domains )

So, is there a way to implement this into current ispcp ?
Either automatic for all new customers, or (temporarly) manually for customers that wants this.
I really really need this, and this has been discussed before here, in a thread started by me, but back then I couldn't get it to work, and I guess I didn't need it this badly.
Greatful for help.

/E


RE: Temporary customer URL ? - joximu - 10-15-2007 09:51 AM

Hi Eminos

what about this solution?

change the file /etc/ispcp/apache/parts/dmn_entry.tpl
add some aliases (one line!):
Code:
ServerAlias     www.{DMN_NAME} {DMN_NAME} *.{DMN_NAME} {SUEXEC_USER}.cust.mydomain.tld {DMN_NAME}.cust.mydomain.tld

This works for me: the last is
http://customerdomain.tld.cust.mydomain.tld
the one before:
http://vu2001.cust.mydomain.tld

of course: you should add some lines in the zonefile of your "mydomain.tld" in bind...
eg:

*.cust IN CNAME admin.mydomain.tld
*.*.cust IN CNAME admin.mydomain.tld
*.*.*.cust IN CNAME admin.mydomain.tld

Then change all customer domains to "toadd" , run the request manager and yep... :-)

Cheers
Joximu


RE: Temporary customer URL ? - joximu - 10-15-2007 09:57 AM

Hey, I like the solution with "vuXXXX.cust.mydomain.tld" this is relatively short and easy...

/J


RE: Temporary customer URL ? - Eminos - 10-16-2007 10:28 AM

Thanks joximu, I will try this and come back if I find any problems Smile

/E


RE: Temporary customer URL ? - ckalley - 03-12-2008 03:41 AM

Eminos Wrote:Hi,

I would like to be able to give my customers temporary URLs for use before their DNSs gets propageted.

Something like:
userdomain.com.customer.myhosting.com
OR
customer.myhosting.net/~userdomain.com

The later one can be achived by a how-to for VHCS, but this doesn't work in ISPCP, I guess due to fcgi and permissions and stuff like that.
( http://vhcs.puuhis.net/wiki/index.php/Temporary_address_to_domains )

So, is there a way to implement this into current ispcp ?
Either automatic for all new customers, or (temporarly) manually for customers that wants this.
I really really need this, and this has been discussed before here, in a thread started by me, but back then I couldn't get it to work, and I guess I didn't need it this badly.
Greatful for help.

/E

Actually, I was able to make the customer.myhosting.net/~userdomain.com work following the instructions, with some tweaks.

<VirtualHost 10.0.0.1:80)
ServerName ispcp.test.com

DocumentRoot /var/www/ispcp/gui
<Directory /var/www/ispcp/gui>

Options Indexes Includes FollowSymLinks MultiViews
AllowOverride None
Order allow,deny
Allow from all

</Directory>

<IfModule mod_userdir.c>

UserDir /var/www/virtual/*/htdocs
UserDir disabled root


<Directory /var/www/virtual/*/htdocs>

AllowOverride FileInfo AuthConfig Limit
Options MultiViews Indexes SymLinksIfOwnerMatch IncludesNoExec

</Directory>

</IfModule>
</VirtualHost>

This allowed me to load domains via ispcp.test.com/~otherdomain.com

Hope this helps,

Chris


RE: Temporary customer URL ? - gOOvER - 03-12-2008 04:10 AM

I think this should be a must have for the stable. Every isp Software i know supports temp Domains. What the others think? Is this possible to realize this in the stable or is this to much to change in the code?


RE: Temporary customer URL ? - weblivehelp - 05-06-2008 06:57 AM

Indeed... I can't get any of the above solutions to work :\ I'm trying to get my ispcp main domain (for example ispcpdomain.tld) to be the one where the clients get their temporary url (so they login to admin.ispcpdomain.tld and the temp url would be something.clients.ispcpdomain.tld) but on bind I only have the admin.ispcpdomain.tld.db file, and even if I try to create the ispcpdomain.tld.db I can't get the above solution to work.

I'm using ispCP 1.0.0 RC4 OMEGA build: 20080316 (btw, I see no updates)