ispCP - Board - Support
vu20xx.admin.domain.tld - Printable Version

+- ispCP - Board - Support (http://www.isp-control.net/forum)
+-- Forum: ispCP Omega Development Area (/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: Suggestions (/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: vu20xx.admin.domain.tld (/thread-8838.html)

Pages: 1 2


vu20xx.admin.domain.tld - Lucan - 12-21-2009 02:31 AM

At the moment me and some other guys from the german corner use the following changes to display the vu20xx.admin.domain.tld at the customer gui.


For that, the following has to be changed:

open
/var/www/ispcp/gui/client/index.php
Search
Code:
'ACCOUNT_NAME' => $account_name,
Add After
Code:
'DOMAIN_UID' => $dmn_uid,

Open
/var/www/ispcp/gui/themes/omega_original/client/index.tpl
Search
Code:
<!-- BDP: t_php_support -->
Add After:
Code:
<tr>
<td>&nbsp;</td>
<td class="content"><span class="message"><b>Alternative URL to reach your Website</b></span></td>
<td class="content2"><a href="http://vu{DOMAIN_UID}.admin.YOURDOMAIN.COM" target="_blank">http://vu{DOMAIN_UID}.admin.YOURDOMAIN.COM</a></td>
</tr>



The reason for this is, that a customer can set his website up, when the Domain isn't reachable (we all know that dns changes etc take some time)

It would be great if some one puts it into the trunk

but for this there are a few things to do
The "alternative URL to reach your Website" must be variable and passed out of the language file.

The admin.YOURDOMAIN.COM must be parsed from. the config.


Hopefully some one is going to finish it and merge it into the trunk.

I think for someone from the dev team it's just a change of a few seconds/minutes.



Greetings and thanks


RE: vu20xx.admin.domain.tld - datacompboy - 12-23-2009 06:22 PM

i prefer easier:
have added in apache parts
ServerAlias {DMN_NAME}.admin.YOURDOMAIN.COM
and client able to reach his site as with
somesite.com
as with
somesite.com.admin.YOURDOMAIN.COM

imho its better, than "vuXXXX".


RE: vu20xx.admin.domain.tld - Mastacheata - 12-24-2009 01:16 AM

(12-23-2009 06:22 PM)datacompboy Wrote:  i prefer easier:
have added in apache parts
ServerAlias {DMN_NAME}.admin.YOURDOMAIN.COM
and client able to reach his site as with
somesite.com
as with
somesite.com.admin.YOURDOMAIN.COM

imho its better, than "vuXXXX".

The vuXXXX Version is already available in ispCP
What Lucan was telling is how to display that URL in the GUI.


RE: vu20xx.admin.domain.tld - datacompboy - 12-24-2009 02:13 AM

How access aliases, mapped to different paths with vuXXX ?


RE: vu20xx.admin.domain.tld - Lucan - 12-24-2009 03:52 AM

Yes, and it would be great if someone would include this into ispcp.
Mastacheata, wouldn't that be something for you? Wink


RE: vu20xx.admin.domain.tld - Lucan - 01-21-2010 10:05 PM

I bump this up, maybe somebody is going to implement this.


RE: vu20xx.admin.domain.tld - TheCry - 01-22-2010 04:55 AM

Ok... Once more for me...
You want to see the url vuxxx.domain.tld in the customer overview?


RE: vu20xx.admin.domain.tld - marchaos - 01-22-2010 06:25 AM

Don't forget about subdomains. Can we make something like:
ServerAlias {DMN_NAME}.in.{BASE_SERVER_VHOST} , {SUB_NAME}.in.{BASE_SERVER_VHOST} , {ALS_NAME}.in.{BASE_SERVER_VHOST} ...
and include temporary links in GUI for all of they later? May be then possible to remove support of vu20xx.admin.domain.tld.

And if somebody makes patches for support this in GUI please don't forget to add support in ../admin/settings.php for switch to hide this temporary links in GUI and/or selectable for each user like hosting plan feature. Just wish and idea, not really needed.

How it maded in CPanel? It has temporary URLs like http://IP_of_server/~login
May be we can make this using RewriteMod for Apache? http://{BASE_SERVER_VHOST}/~{DMN_NAME} , http://{BASE_SERVER_VHOST}/~{SUB_NAME} , http://{BASE_SERVER_VHOST}/~{ALS_NAME} looks better I think. + http://{BASE_SERVER_VHOST}/~vu{DOMAIN_UID} if somebody need it. This way is the best. I don't know RewriteMod rules good so please somebody help.


RE: vu20xx.admin.domain.tld - joximu - 01-22-2010 08:42 AM

The URL/~name solutions are not the best - if you have a php application which needs to run in the document root (or you have absolut paths to css or images in your html code) then you need your own Hostname.

Everyone can change the templates to also add {ALS_NAME} or {SUB_NAME} to the right ServerAlias lines...

/J


RE: vu20xx.admin.domain.tld - kilburn - 01-22-2010 12:08 PM

Quote:The URL/~name solutions are not the best - if you have a php application which needs to run in the document root (or you have absolut paths to css or images in your html code) then you need your own Hostname.

Furthermore, cpanel can do it because it uses mod_php by default. Under fastcgi/fcgid (ispcp's default configuration), you can *not* do this because the website will run as the master's user (vu2000) which should *not* have rights to see the user's php files.