Current time: 12-19-2018, 01:04 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)


Post Reply 
DNSmasq
Author Message
Bas232 Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 12
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
DNSmasq
Hi,

I want to run this on my homeserver with a VDSL2 line and static IP to host some of my own websites.
However I run DNSMasq and don't intent to use Bind9 as the registrar has a fine and very stable nameserver.
Can I simply skip installing Bind9 and run with DNSmasq and put the resolving in the hands of the registrar?
As my DNSmasq is needed for the local network, it also does DHCP and remapping local stuff.

And I find Bind9 far to complicated for my simple needs.

Thanks,

Bas.
(This post was last modified: 10-30-2010 10:21 PM by Bas232.)
10-30-2010 10:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
motokochan Offline
Member
***

Posts: 274
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #2
RE: DNSmasq
Since nobody answered, I'll give something short.

ispCP Omega is designed to use BIND. If you want to run another solution, you'll have to either manage it yourself or modify the software to work with DNSMasq.

If you are going to use your machine as an authoritative DNS source for the hosted domains, you probably don't want to run DNSMasq anyway as it is not designed for that purpose.
12-02-2010 02:38 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
JCircle Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 32
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: DNSmasq
This is more of a hack than a fix, but sometimes can work and i would have to play around and make sure it works, ill do this tonight.

You can fake the system into thinking it IS the external IP address.

ifconfig
eth0 192.168.0.100 <-- internal
eth0:1 172.21.21.21 <--- external

set your routing to use eth0 gateway and all
map your firewall holes to your 192.168.0.100 ip
your dns should answer back with your external ip address as well as apache vhosts should work.

Ill test this tonight using the current build but I have used this work around for a 3rd dns server before.

NOTE: this is a single server build, already noted this is a quick hack to make something work, (before you flame it Smile )
05-26-2011 12:08 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
joximu Offline
helper
*****
Moderators

Posts: 7,034
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation: 92
Post: #4
RE: DNSmasq
btw: 172.21.21.21 ist auch eine private/interne IP...

SCNR Smile
(This post was last modified: 05-26-2011 06:40 PM by joximu.)
05-26-2011 06:39 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
JCircle Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 32
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: DNSmasq
being that your dns would be housed outside of the ispCP stack of software, i see no issue at all running both. Yes you will have to update your dns external to the ispCP control panel but it will work.


just install the software as is. leave bind9 running, just dont use it as your name server.

meaning dont point your domains name server to your ispcp server leave it external
(This post was last modified: 05-29-2011 10:04 AM by JCircle.)
05-29-2011 10:03 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)