Current time: 09-25-2021, 01:22 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)


Post Reply 
Add subdomain as domain
Author Message
Haros Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 36
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Add subdomain as domain
Hello everybody,

I want to add a subdomain but also I want to have the ability to limit the upload space, disable php in the subdomain's folder... settings that you only find under domain management in ispcp.

So, is there any way that I can add a subdomain to act as a domain?

Thank you.
07-06-2011 09:27 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
kilburn Offline
Development Team
*****
Dev Team

Posts: 2,182
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 34
Post: #2
RE: Add subdomain as domain
Have you tried adding the subdomain as if it was a normal domain? Tongue
07-06-2011 10:02 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Haros Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 36
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: Add subdomain as domain
That was my first thought... Big Grin

But when I tried to add it "domain already exists" error appeared. Tongue
07-06-2011 10:06 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
kilburn Offline
Development Team
*****
Dev Team

Posts: 2,182
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 34
Post: #4
RE: Add subdomain as domain
... you have to delete the subdomain from the configured subdomains of domain.tld first ...
07-06-2011 06:45 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Haros Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 36
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: Add subdomain as domain
I have deleted the subdomain from ISPCP (using the web interface) isn't that enough?
07-06-2011 08:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Haros Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 36
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: Add subdomain as domain
So, any clues?
07-07-2011 11:06 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
kilburn Offline
Development Team
*****
Dev Team

Posts: 2,182
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 34
Post: #7
RE: Add subdomain as domain
It should be enough if you don't see it anymore in the panel. The thing is that I don't know what to tell you because it works perfectly fine on my servers :S
07-07-2011 04:21 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Haros Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 36
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
RE: Add subdomain as domain
Are you sure that if you first add a domain and then a subdomain (as domain) it works?

Searching around a bit I found joximu's post which says that ispcp will refuse a new customer sub.domain.tld if domain.tld is already installed (here: http://isp-control.net/forum/thread-6449...l#pid52633 ).

Other control panels have that function, is there any workaround that could be done?
07-07-2011 09:08 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
kilburn Offline
Development Team
*****
Dev Team

Posts: 2,182
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 34
Post: #9
RE: Add subdomain as domain
I am sure that it works on my test system (squeeze + ispcp 1.0.7). I suppose you can track down where this check is performed and disable it...
07-09-2011 05:48 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Haros Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 36
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
RE: Add subdomain as domain
I have exactly the same setup (squeeze - ispcp 1.0.7).

Can you give a little bit of help about where the check is? I guess since you are a dev you know better Tongue
Ok. Just a little update because I figured out what was the problem. The domain.tld was created by another user. When I tried to add the subdomain it was from a different user than the one that created the main domain.

The error message was a bit missleading but everything is ok now.

Thanks for the help. Smile
(This post was last modified: 07-09-2011 10:58 PM by Haros.)
07-09-2011 10:18 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)