Current time: 10-27-2021, 04:53 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)


Post Reply 
2 ip(internal / external)
Author Message
D57452 Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 36
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
2 ip(internal / external)
anyone like me that the machine installed ispcp behind the router?
once i installed the ispcp and entered 192.168.0.x for the server ip, all ips in bind databases become 192.168.0.x
while i enetered 61.92.109.x(my WAN ip), all ips in apache's configuration file becomde 61.92.109.x...

i need to change some files manually to keep the server working,
is it good to have internal and external ip for ispcp?
11-13-2007 07:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
joximu Offline
helper
*****
Moderators

Posts: 7,024
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation: 92
Post: #2
RE: 2 ip(internal / external)
Hi

if you have your ispcp behind a router you need - as you wrote - to do some changes manually. There were some similar questions in this forum - in summer...

Maybe I'd go this way: change the tpl files in /etc/ispcp/bind/parts to always write your external ip in the zone files. But in ispcp use the internal ip (for apache).
Of course you can do it the other way (fix internal ip for apache, external ip for ispcp + bind).
This should be a practicable solution.

/J
11-13-2007 07:39 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
rbtux Offline
Moderator
*****
Moderators

Posts: 1,847
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 33
Post: #3
RE: 2 ip(internal / external)
in this case you should also add proxy_interfaces = your external ip to the postfix main.cf...
11-13-2007 07:46 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
mata Offline
French Corner Moderator
*****
Moderators

Posts: 71
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: 2 ip(internal / external)
hi all,

i've had a lot of experience trying to have an isp-cp behind router ..

Problem 1 : templates apache/bind/mail are not made for and internal and external ip

Problem 2 : My external IP is dynamic

Solution : edit bind templates every time your external adress changes Sad

maybe someone can make a no-ip.com kinda script for linux server to update ip everytime the external ip changes. would be a great addon to isp-cp ... ability to install and use it at home from dynamic IP

Mvg,

Mata
11-15-2007 05:55 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
rbtux Offline
Moderator
*****
Moderators

Posts: 1,847
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 33
Post: #5
RE: 2 ip(internal / external)
Why don't you use nat? This should be no problem... A dns server at a dynamic IP is useless!

The traffic for your web/ftp/mail server you can forward in the router...
11-15-2007 05:59 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
joximu Offline
helper
*****
Moderators

Posts: 7,024
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation: 92
Post: #6
RE: 2 ip(internal / external)
And... (dynamic IP...)
you should not even think about running a DNS on a server with dynamic IP.

Put the DNS somewhere on a fix IP server and there you can set all names/hosts to a CNAME xyz.dyndns.org. or equivalent...

/J
(This post was last modified: 11-15-2007 06:29 PM by joximu.)
11-15-2007 06:26 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
mata Offline
French Corner Moderator
*****
Moderators

Posts: 71
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: 2 ip(internal / external)
wicked .. sticky tis Smile .. i'm sure more will have this question in the future.

yeah thats how i did it .. put the nameserver on different server .. but then ispcp cant manage it ..

Mvg,

Mathias
11-15-2007 06:57 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
joximu Offline
helper
*****
Moderators

Posts: 7,024
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation: 92
Post: #8
RE: 2 ip(internal / external)
mata Wrote:wicked .. sticky tis Smile .. i'm sure more will have this question in the future.

yeah thats how i did it .. put the nameserver on different server .. but then ispcp cant manage it ..

Mvg,

Mathias

Should be possible - in the same way as ispcp can manage a secondary DNS it should be able (IMHO!) to manage 2 external DNS...
11-16-2007 05:34 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
victor531 Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 167
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation: 3
Post: #9
RE: 2 ip(internal / external)
I have mi IspCP running behind a router with a dinamyc IP without problem.
Do this in the installation
1.- Put the local IP of your server in the address Ip for IspCp ( 192.168.XXX.XXX)
2.-Create in your Ispcp your domain normally
3.-Open a account in Zoneedit.com and registry your domain ( free)
4.-For each domain in Zoneedit.com you will have a NS1 and NS2
5.-Fill whit your dinamyc IP the ADDRESS FIELD in --www.yourdomain.tdl -- * . yourdomain.tdl -- yourdomain.tdl in the zoneedit form ( the three of them)
6.-Create a MX server for your email
7.-After that, put these NS1 and NS2 in the domain pointer of your NIC

If your Ip change continously , install the ddclient package (apt-get install)
and the config template ( etc/ddclient.conf) should look like :

# Configuration file for ddclient generated by debconf
#
# /etc/ddclient.conf

pid=/var/run/ddclient.pid
protocol=zoneedit1
use=web, web=checkip.dyndns.org
server=www.zoneedit.com

login=yourlogin
password='yourpass'
domain1.tdl,*.domain1.tdl,domain2.tdl,*.domain2.tdl

And make a config to run ddclient as daemon , the when your Ip change , the ddclient will change your old IP for your new Ip in zoneedit
in a few second.

Easy and nice, enjoy it
(This post was last modified: 12-08-2007 06:47 AM by victor531.)
12-08-2007 06:45 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
rbtux Offline
Moderator
*****
Moderators

Posts: 1,847
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 33
Post: #10
RE: 2 ip(internal / external)
you mean you run your dns server on a dynamic ip?

Well that is really a bad idea... A lot of dnsserver caches the ipaddresses of the nameserver they speak with and when the ip changes regularly your dns server will be not reachable for certain customers...

And you run ns1 and ns2 on the same host? That would be another bad idea...

But I assume for testing only this environment possibly fits the needs...
12-08-2007 06:49 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)