Current time: 11-26-2020, 10:27 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)


Post Reply 
IPv6
Author Message
digibyte Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 108
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation: 3
Post: #1
IPv6
Does someone know if IPv6 is supported by ispCP Omega?
01-29-2008 07:57 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
joximu Offline
helper
*****
Moderators

Posts: 7,024
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation: 92
Post: #2
RE: IPv6
It doesn't seem so - the form where you can enter IP adresses (which are given to the resellers) has only 4 parts... and the database field has 15 chars...

/J
01-29-2008 08:15 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Zothos Offline
Release Manager
*****
Dev Team

Posts: 1,262
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 10
Post: #3
RE: IPv6
i think this should be on our todo list for 1.0 or even rc4
My hoster has recently started a ipv6 only net area. This is the future Wink
01-29-2008 10:07 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
joximu Offline
helper
*****
Moderators

Posts: 7,024
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation: 92
Post: #4
RE: IPv6
Yes - sure, it's the future.
But I doubt that this will be in 1.0 (unless you code it :-). It's not absolutely needed in the near future. I think, ISPs which do sell hostings still use IPv4 for the next year(s) - and I hope we have a 1.1 until then - maybe with better IP mangement...

my 2 cents...
/J
01-29-2008 10:53 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
digibyte Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 108
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation: 3
Post: #5
RE: IPv6
Ok, when it's not in ispCP Omega yet i propose to see it as a new feature for version 1.1. Since I don't want to delay 1.0 (again).
01-29-2008 11:16 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mathijs Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 10
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: IPv6
Any news on this subject already? IPv6 support is getting adopted by more and more providers over here and getting ready for it is no unnecessary luxury, as sooner or later it should happen anyways.
At this time almost all colo's out here support it, and my home isp also does, i would not wait too long.

I have to say that after installing ISPcp and looking around, i am very impressed by the completeness of it, ease of installation, working 'out of the box' on a distro that is seen as exotic by other control panels. Keep up the good work! Tongue
06-09-2009 11:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
BeNe Offline
Moderator
*****
Moderators

Posts: 5,899
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation: 68
Post: #7
RE: IPv6
No there are no news!
But this topic exist on the wishlist and i´m sure we have it in later Version.

Greez BeNe
06-10-2009 12:14 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
rbtux Offline
Moderator
*****
Moderators

Posts: 1,847
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 33
Post: #8
RE: IPv6
the only part is apache... All other services can be ipv6 enabled with a few entries in their configuration...

/EDIT: Stupid me, DNS too of course but I don't use dns from ispcp so I forgot about that ;-))
(This post was last modified: 06-10-2009 01:06 AM by rbtux.)
06-10-2009 01:05 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mathijs Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 10
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: IPv6
Well those are the 2 that should be done indeed, but it is not that simple as adding one ip of course.
I would say, let's give a /80 to a server, and each virtualhost its own /128. Each https can also have it's own ip, no problem there anymore.

So it would be setting a /80 in the setup screen, set own ip's to domains, set AAAA records in DNS. And all that while keeping it compatible with ipv4 in the mean time. Wink
06-11-2009 01:11 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
rbtux Offline
Moderator
*****
Moderators

Posts: 1,847
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 33
Post: #10
RE: IPv6
why complicated like that?

just use a /64 for your hosting infrastructure and then add ip's out off that range as needed...

why /80 for each server? do you want to use ospfv3 to redistribute this routes to the border? Or how did you imagine that setup?
06-11-2009 02:23 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)