Current time: 04-19-2024, 04:17 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)


Post Reply 
svn and trac on apache
Author Message
prale Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 92
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #1
svn and trac on apache
Hello, it took me 3 days to find out that mod_evasive denied all subversion connections.
Please add this notice to the wiki, "how to make ispcp more secure", it's read-only so I can't change it.

Also I have a question.
My subversion runs with mod_python.
Now I added the subversion and trac virtualhost blocks in the /etc/apache2/apache2.conf, just above the include of the sites-available.

Actually I want to use it in a subdomain created by ispcp.
Is this possible? And where can I add the virtualhost block without the risk that ispcp overwrites it when regenerating the config?

Also how can I dissable mod_evasive on this subdomain? And still use it for all other (sub)domains?
(This post was last modified: 04-12-2008 01:54 AM by prale.)
04-12-2008 01:50 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Achmed Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 104
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
RE: svn and trac on apache
prale Wrote:Actually I want to use it in a subdomain created by ispcp.
Is this possible? And where can I add the virtualhost block without the risk that ispcp overwrites it when regenerating the config?
/etc/apache2/ispcp/sub.your-domain.conf
You just have to add the location-part of your vhost-entry.
Code:
<Location /dev>
   SetHandler mod_python
   PythonHandler trac.web.modpython_frontend
   PythonPath "sys.path + ['/usr/share/trac']"
   PythonOption TracEnv /var/trac/wiki
   PythonOption TracUriRoot /dev
</Location>
<Location /dev/login>
   AuthType Basic
   AuthName "Login"
   AuthUserFile /var/www/virtual/domain.com/trac.htpasswd
   Require valid-user
</Location>
Thats my entry for Trac.
Set Location to root (/) did not work with login.
04-12-2008 02:26 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ephigenie Offline
Project Leader
*******
Administrators

Posts: 1,578
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 15
Post: #3
RE: svn and trac on apache
For the sake of it :

I'll recommend using trac with fastcgi Wink

1) it can be run with the same user as the other scripts in your domain
2) it doesn't bloat apache that much as mod_python does (trac uses clearsilve template engine which uses up to 140M of Ram. If you're running that on apache/mpm_worker than each child (child not thread) will take the same amount since something in the code makes SHM unavailable between these processes.
Fastcgi / trac uses SHM area as such its ~140 (1x) Wink
04-12-2008 03:32 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Achmed Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 104
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: svn and trac on apache
Oki, thanks for that hint.
04-12-2008 03:54 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
prale Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 92
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #5
RE: svn and trac on apache
Thanks Achmed, it works Smile
04-12-2008 04:18 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
prale Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 92
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #6
RE: svn and trac on apache
What is the vhost config for running trac on fastcgi?
And can this also be done in /etc/apache2/ispcp/sub.your-domain.conf?
04-19-2008 10:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)