Current time: 04-25-2024, 09:51 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)


Post Reply 
Problem with FastCgi idle-timeout
Author Message
papasj Offline


Posts: 3
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Problem with FastCgi idle-timeout
Hello,

I'm using Horde3+IMP as a webmail. Each time someone enters an invalid login he gets a 500 Internal Server Error. The apache logs says:

Code:
[Fri Jul 04 03:24:42 2008] [error] [client *********] FastCGI: incomplete headers (0 bytes) received from server "/var/www/fcgi/*****.com/php5-fcgi-starter", referer: http://webmail.****.com/horde3/imp/redirect.php
[Fri Jul 04 03:26:30 2008] [error] [client *********] FastCGI: comm with (dynamic) server "/var/www/fcgi/webenergie.gr/php5-fcgi-starter" aborted: (first read) idle timeout (30 sec), referer: http://webmail.****.com/horde3/imp/redirect.php

I've seen that this default 30sec idle timeout of fastcgi exists in Debian Echt which is my system, however I've seen in /etc/apache2/mods-available/fastcgi_ispcp.conf
that the -idle-timeout option is set on 300.

I've changed that value to an even higher one but still the log file shows 30sec. Does anyone know what i can do in order to actually change this value ??

thanks
giannis
07-04-2008 05:39 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
papasj Offline


Posts: 3
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
RE: Problem with FastCgi idle-timeout
solved the problem.

I was editing FastCgiServer directive with the argument -idle-timeout, but the actual
-idle-timeout should be in the FastCgiConfig directive of fastcgi_ispcp.conf file.

Now i have:
Code:
FastCgiConfig -minProcesses 1 \
                  -maxProcesses 400 \
                  -maxClassProcesses 5 \
                  -multiThreshold 80 \
                  -killInterval 60 \
                  -startDelay 5  \
                  -idle-timeout 60
                  # -singleThreshold 100 \
                  # -autoUpdate \
                  # -pass-header HTTP_AUTHORIZATION
and it works fine
07-04-2008 07:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
robmorin Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 208
Joined: Apr 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: Problem with FastCgi idle-timeout
I had this error for some domains i host too, switching them to php5 rather than php4 fixed all the error 500 problems.....

There is a how to in the faq section or doc section on how to make a website use php5 rather the php4 on this web site somewhere.. Smile

papasj Wrote:solved the problem.

I was editing FastCgiServer directive with the argument -idle-timeout, but the actual
-idle-timeout should be in the FastCgiConfig directive of fastcgi_ispcp.conf file.

Now i have:
Code:
FastCgiConfig -minProcesses 1 \
                  -maxProcesses 400 \
                  -maxClassProcesses 5 \
                  -multiThreshold 80 \
                  -killInterval 60 \
                  -startDelay 5  \
                  -idle-timeout 60
                  # -singleThreshold 100 \
                  # -autoUpdate \
                  # -pass-header HTTP_AUTHORIZATION
and it works fine
07-05-2008 10:31 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
prale Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 92
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #4
MyBB RE: Problem with FastCgi idle-timeout
I have exactly the same errors in my logs.
But your solution doesn't work:

# /etc/init.d/apache2 restart
Forcing reload of web server (apache2)... waiting ....Syntax error on line 30 of /etc/apache2/mods-enabled/fastcgi_ispcp.conf:
Invalid command '-idle-timeout', perhaps misspelled or defined by a module not included in the server configuration

I changed:

Code:
<IfModule mod_fastcgi.c>
        FastCgiWrapper On
        FastCgiIpcDir /var/lib/apache2/fastcgi2

        FastCgiConfig -minProcesses 1 \
                  -maxProcesses 400 \
                  -maxClassProcesses 100 \
                  -multiThreshold 80 \
                  -killInterval 60 \
                  -startDelay 5
                  # -singleThreshold 100 \
                  # -autoUpdate \
                  # -pass-header HTTP_AUTHORIZATION

        FastCgiServer /var/www/fcgi/master/php5-fcgi-starter -user vu2000 -group vu2000 -idle-timeout 300

        #
        # PHP5 SUPPORT
        #

        AddHandler php-fastcgi .php .php5

        <Location /php5/php5-fcgi-starter>
                SetHandler fastcgi-script
                Options +ExecCGI
        </Location>

        Action php-fastcgi /php5/php5-fcgi-starter
        AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .php5
</IfModule>

To this:

Code:
<IfModule mod_fastcgi.c>
        FastCgiWrapper On
        FastCgiIpcDir /var/lib/apache2/fastcgi2

        FastCgiConfig -minProcesses 1 \
                  -maxProcesses 400 \
                  -maxClassProcesses 100 \
                  -multiThreshold 80 \
                  -killInterval 60 \
                  -startDelay 5
                  -idle-timeout 60
                  # -singleThreshold 100 \
                  # -autoUpdate \
                  # -pass-header HTTP_AUTHORIZATION

        FastCgiServer /var/www/fcgi/master/php5-fcgi-starter -user vu2000 -group vu2000 -idle-timeout 300

        #
        # PHP5 SUPPORT
        #

        AddHandler php-fastcgi .php .php5

        <Location /php5/php5-fcgi-starter>
                SetHandler fastcgi-script
                Options +ExecCGI
        </Location>

        Action php-fastcgi /php5/php5-fcgi-starter
        AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .php5
</IfModule>

In /etc/apache2/mods-available/fastcgi_ispcp.conf
(This post was last modified: 10-06-2008 08:05 AM by prale.)
10-06-2008 08:04 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
4tux Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 87
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: Problem with FastCgi idle-timeout
Hello,
i had that problem too.
My solution was to at a

Quote: \
at the line with "-startDelay 5" (after).
Than all worked...
10-06-2008 07:50 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
prale Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 92
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #6
RE: Problem with FastCgi idle-timeout
Fixed, thanx Wink
10-07-2008 03:51 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ontherocks Offline


Posts: 1
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: Problem with FastCgi idle-timeout
my hosting doesnt' allow me to access to the fastcgi configuration file. Is it any trick to configurate the settings from my files?

thanks
03-17-2009 10:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)