Current time: 04-17-2024, 02:58 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

DNS and FTP...wont work?
david Offline

DNS and FTP...wont work?
Greetings,

I'm relatively new at Linux. I have Ubuntu 8.04 installed on my system, and the latest version of ispCP, that I installed with no errors. However I have two problems I can't seem to work around. I didn't have a domain when I installed ispCP so I used a .cjb.net, and pointed it to my IP, it worked fine. After installation however, I added .ca domain, but when I tried to use ns1.mydomain.cjb.net with that domain it wouldn't work, it couldn't find the nameserver. I'm not sure if/how to setup nameservers to work with ispCP on linux, or if ispCP setup nameservers automatically, and didn't work, or I did something wrong.

Also I can't seem to get FTP working. I make an account, and ispCP says it's successfully created, but when I try to connect it can't find the FTP server. I checked, and the FTP server is running.

If someone could help me with these problems, I would really appreciate it, thank you!
(This post was last modified: 08-13-2008 04:19 AM by david.)
08-13-2008 04:18 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
david Offline

RE: DNS and FTP...wont work?
david Wrote:Greetings,

I'm relatively new at Linux. I have Ubuntu 8.04 installed on my system, and the latest version of ispCP, that I installed with no errors. However I have two problems I can't seem to work around. I didn't have a domain when I installed ispCP so I used a .cjb.net, and pointed it to my IP, it worked fine. After installation however, I added .ca domain, but when I tried to use ns1.mydomain.cjb.net with that domain it wouldn't work, it couldn't find the nameserver. I'm not sure if/how to setup nameservers to work with ispCP on linux, or if ispCP setup nameservers automatically, and didn't work, or I did something wrong.