Current time: 10-05-2022, 06:26 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)


Post Reply 
[HowTo] Replacing ProFTPD with PureFTPD
Author Message
Kommius Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 22
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 2
Post: #1
[HowTo] Replacing ProFTPD with PureFTPD
Hi all,

Ive posted a tutorial on how to replace ProFTPD with PureFTPD here :

http://www.isp-control.net/documentation...rom_binary

It enforces quota management on the FTP server Cool
09-18-2008 08:06 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
BeNe Offline
Moderator
*****
Moderators

Posts: 5,899
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation: 68
Post: #2
RE: [HowTo] Replacing ProFTPD with PureFTPD
Thanks!
So we can delete this HowTo --> http://www.isp-control.net/ispcp/wiki/howto_pureftpd ??

Greez BeNe
09-18-2008 03:58 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Zothos Offline
Release Manager
*****
Dev Team

Posts: 1,262
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 10
Post: #3
RE: [HowTo] Replacing ProFTPD with PureFTPD
no we cant, kommuis howto uses pureftpd from source
09-18-2008 06:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Kommius Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 22
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 2
Post: #4
RE: [HowTo] Replacing ProFTPD with PureFTPD
Based on the given link and the other tutorial i posted, i published a more detailed tutorial here for non-binary-source PureFTPD :

http://www.isp-control.net/documentation..._pure-ftpd

Cheers
09-18-2008 10:09 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
BioALIEN Offline
Public Relations Officer
*****
Dev Team

Posts: 620
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 5
Post: #5
RE: [HowTo] Replacing ProFTPD with PureFTPD
Thanks for this!
09-30-2008 02:10 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Zothos Offline
Release Manager
*****
Dev Team

Posts: 1,262
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 10
Post: #6
RE: [HowTo] Replacing ProFTPD with PureFTPD
i can verify that this is working Wink Running pureftpd since i installed rc4. My conf is a bit different from yours and i dont use quota but its working Tongue
09-30-2008 09:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mericon Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 50
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: [HowTo] Replacing ProFTPD with PureFTPD
i get some error Smile

Syslog:
Oct 2 12:14:42 clients proftpd[13960]: error: cannot execute /usr/sbin/proftpd: No such file or directory

whats there wrong ?

i`m runing @ an debian etch and ispcp rc 6

thanks Smile
10-02-2008 08:29 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Zothos Offline
Release Manager
*****
Dev Team

Posts: 1,262
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 10
Post: #8
RE: [HowTo] Replacing ProFTPD with PureFTPD
proftpd? the process seems to be running still. Please kill all proftpd processes and or restart the server one time.
10-02-2008 08:30 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mericon Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 50
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: [HowTo] Replacing ProFTPD with PureFTPD
same error i cant login into ftp and in the syslog is this error again :8

Oct 2 13:21:22 clients proftpd[22493]: connect from 80.137.247.144 (80.137.247.144)
Oct 2 13:21:22 clients proftpd[22493]: error: cannot execute /usr/sbin/proftpd: No such file or director

i have removed proftpd with apt-get remove --purge
10-02-2008 09:22 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Zothos Offline
Release Manager
*****
Dev Team

Posts: 1,262
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 10
Post: #10
RE: [HowTo] Replacing ProFTPD with PureFTPD
do you have xinetd running or something? maybe its still in your system somehow.
10-02-2008 09:32 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)