Current time: 10-26-2020, 04:48 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)


Post Reply 
Without fastcgi
Author Message
Z4P Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 62
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Without fastcgi
Hey,
I have some problems with my ram because of the fastcgi module.
Mayby there is a replacement for this module, or make a option to install it or not.

Becaue with that fastcgi you need a minium of 256 MB Ram, and (in my opinion) that is alot for control panel with no websites running on it.

Sincerly, Z4P.
05-12-2007 08:37 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ephigenie Offline
Project Leader
*******
Administrators

Posts: 1,578
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 15
Post: #2
RE: Without fastcgi
you can reconfigure you webserver as apache2-mpm-prefork with mod_php4/5
but keep in mind that you're throwing away a lot of the security fastcgi/suexec brings with it.

And btw. perhaps you should run "top" and see how much ram your mysql i.e. eats up.
A mysql with < 64M dedicated to it is running slow without a question ...

Another option :
Try to remove some unused php-modules so that the mem-footprint of your php is smaller than now.
05-12-2007 08:45 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Z4P Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 62
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: Without fastcgi
Which field in top indicates the memory?
Code:
PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND
9522 root      17   0  3832 1288 1080 S    0  0.3   0:00.01 mysqld_safe
9571 mysql     16   0  123m  16m 4912 S    0  3.6   0:00.34 mysqld
05-12-2007 08:52 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ephigenie Offline
Project Leader
*******
Administrators

Posts: 1,578
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 15
Post: #4
RE: Without fastcgi
can you give us a full screen of your top output ?
05-12-2007 09:11 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ephigenie Offline
Project Leader
*******
Administrators

Posts: 1,578
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 15
Post: #5
RE: Without fastcgi
for now your mysql uses 123M of ram altogether - how much swap - space do you have ?
05-12-2007 09:12 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Z4P Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 62
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: Without fastcgi
WOA, i got 128MB, and 512 Burstable.

Code:
Cpu(s):  0.0% us,  0.0% sy,  0.0% ni, 100.0% id,  0.0% wa,  0.0% hi,  0.0% si
Mem:    471856k total,    55292k used,   416564k free,        0k buffers
Swap:        0k total,        0k used,        0k free,        0k cached

  PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND
    16339 root      15   0  1556  576  460 S    0  0.1   0:00.32 syslogd
17549 postgrey  19   0 10444 7768 2384 S    0  1.6   0:00.00 postgrey
17689 root      16   0  4852 1112  780 S    0  0.2   0:00.00 sshd
17695 root      19   0  2188  792  644 S    0  0.2   0:00.00 xinetd
17735 nobody    16   0  9104 1564  572 S    0  0.3   0:00.03 proftpd
17745 root      15   0  2132  880  700 S    0  0.2   0:00.02 cron
17819 root      16   0  1484  404  340 S    0  0.1   0:00.00 ispcp_daemon
23779 root      16   0  9872 6276 1556 S    0  1.3   0:00.35 miniserv.pl
5629 root      17   0  4740 1656 1340 S    0  0.4   0:00.16 master
5637 postfix   16   0  4784 1712 1380 S    0  0.4   0:00.06 qmgr
5640 root      25   0  1668  388  316 S    0  0.1   0:00.00 courierlogger
5641 root      16   0  1860  592  476 S    0  0.1   0:00.00 authdaemond
5643 root      16   0  1860  268  152 S    0  0.1   0:00.00 authdaemond
5644 root      16   0  1860  268  152 S    0  0.1   0:00.00 authdaemond
5645 root      16   0  1860  268  152 S    0  0.1   0:00.00 authdaemond
5646 root      16   0  1860  268  152 S    0  0.1   0:00.00 authdaemond
5647 root      16   0  1860  268  152 S    0  0.1   0:00.00 authdaemond
5656 root      22   0  1668  316  252 S    0  0.1   0:00.00 courierlogger
5657 root      18   0  1776  544  460 S    0  0.1   0:00.00 couriertcpd
5662 root      15   0  1776  516  432 S    0  0.1   0:00.00 couriertcpd
5664 root      15   0  1668  472  400 S    0  0.1   0:00.00 courierlogger
8106 root      16   0 10012 2892 1532 S    0  0.6   0:00.27 apache2
8107 www-data  18   0  9784 2148  796 S    0  0.5   0:00.00 apache2
8108 www-data  16   0  9784 1928  592 S    0  0.4   0:00.00 apache2
8110 vu2000    19   0 14784 3804 2784 S    0  0.8   0:00.02 php4-cgi
8113 www-data  24   0  227m 4772 1592 S    0  1.0   0:00.06 apache2
8172 vu2000    16   0 19172 8388 2872 S    0  1.8   0:00.70 php4-cgi
8173 vu2000    15   0 19460 8440 2536 S    0  1.8   0:00.41 php4-cgi
9522 root      16   0  3840 1316 1100 S    0  0.3   0:00.02 mysqld_safe
4009 mysql     16   0  123m  16m 4816 S    0  3.5   0:00.83 mysqld
4013 root      16   0  2904  564  496 S    0  0.1   0:00.00 logger
28485 postfix   16   0  4748 1632 1320 S    0  0.3   0:00.00 pickup
5674 root      16   0  7796 2368 1924 S    0  0.5   0:00.07 sshd
5794 root      15   0  4148 1668 1304 S    0  0.4   0:00.00 bash

Is there a way to lower the RAm needed by the MySQL server?
(This post was last modified: 05-12-2007 06:01 PM by Z4P.)
05-12-2007 05:59 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
joximu Offline
helper
*****
Moderators

Posts: 7,024
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation: 92
Post: #7
RE: Without fastcgi
Well you could disable some DB engines (innoDB) if you don't need that.

(in /etc/mysql/my.cnf there is a line skip-innodb - you can enable this line...)

Maybe this will get you some "space" :-)
05-12-2007 06:34 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Z4P Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 62
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
RE: Without fastcgi
Hmm not very much different:
Code:
top - 03:37:14 up 11:30,  2 users,  load average: 0.00, 0.00, 0.00
Tasks:  39 total,   2 running,  37 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
Cpu(s):  0.0% us,  0.0% sy,  0.0% ni, 100.0% id,  0.0% wa,  0.0% hi,  0.0% si
Mem:    471856k total,    44396k used,   427460k free,        0k buffers
Swap:        0k total,        0k used,        0k free,        0k cached

3597 root      18   0  3832 1288 1080 S    0  0.3   0:00.01 mysqld_safe
3638 mysql     15   0  123m  16m 4824 S    0  3.6   0:00.18 mysqld
05-12-2007 06:37 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
joximu Offline
helper
*****
Moderators

Posts: 7,024
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation: 92
Post: #9
RE: Without fastcgi
Well, you have to know:
linux normally uses all memory which is available - becaus unused memory is wasted money...

I'm a little bit irritated by "used: about 45MB" but you can use 128MB - maybe this is the special thing about virtual Servers...

Maybe someone with more "virtual" knowledge can help to improve the the config.
05-12-2007 07:03 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
El Rico Offline


Posts: 4
Joined: Apr 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
RE: Without fastcgi
ephigenie Wrote:you can reconfigure you webserver as apache2-mpm-prefork with mod_php4/5

Is it just a matter of changing the apache2 config , or does one need to temper with ispCP itself?
05-12-2007 07:30 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)