Current time: 12-09-2019, 09:23 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)


Thread Closed 
PHP safe_mode switch
Author Message
DiXeoN Offline
Member
***

Posts: 284
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 2
Post: #1
PHP safe_mode switch
Hello.

I think, along with a PHP4/5 switch, that a safe_mode on/off switch would be a "nice-to-have" feature, as more customers will be able to use joomla and such stuff much better with safe mode off.
04-30-2009 04:03 PM
Find all posts by this user
BeNe Offline
Moderator
*****
Moderators

Posts: 5,899
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation: 68
Post: #2
RE: PHP safe_mode switch
We support PHP4 no more - onyl PHP5.
The safe mode is not really needed because of fcgid and the permissions.

Greez BeNe
04-30-2009 04:06 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
rbtux Offline
Moderator
*****
Moderators

Posts: 1,847
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 33
Post: #3
RE: PHP safe_mode switch
safe_mode is depreciated and will be dropped in php6. The switch could be usefull later for switching between php5 and php6
04-30-2009 06:27 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
gOOvER Offline
Banned

Posts: 3,561
Joined: Jul 2007
Post: #4
RE: PHP safe_mode switch
Maybe it's a better solution, when the Users can change some value's of php.ini via a GUI.
04-30-2009 07:18 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
BeNe Offline
Moderator
*****
Moderators

Posts: 5,899
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation: 68
Post: #5
RE: PHP safe_mode switch
Quote:The switch could be usefull later for switching between php5 and php6
Yep!
Quote:Maybe it's a better solution, when the Users can change some value's of php.ini via a GUI.
Like plesk or ther other with a php_admin_value ?
But ispCP must check it before, otherwise Apache wont start correct if there is an syntax Error/wrong value or ?

Greez BeNe
04-30-2009 07:43 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
gOOvER Offline
Banned

Posts: 3,561
Joined: Jul 2007
Post: #6
RE: PHP safe_mode switch
I mean Plesk check it, before. I don't know. It's a long, long Time ago, that i used Plesk Big Grin
04-30-2009 08:37 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
DiXeoN Offline
Member
***

Posts: 284
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 2
Post: #7
RE: PHP safe_mode switch
BeNe - The only reason i talked about PHP4 is because i saw another thread about someone developing that switch.

Anyways.

rbtux: When will PHP6 be out then?
05-01-2009 12:53 AM
Find all posts by this user
vasiliy0 Offline


Posts: 2
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
RE: PHP safe_mode switch
If CGI is on, users can change their php.ini with cgi script like this:

#!/usr/bin/perl
print "Content-type: text/html\n\n";
print "###";
`echo ';test' >> /var/www/fcgi/example.org/php5/php.ini`

Maybe it is not a bug, it is undocumented feature Wink
05-01-2009 02:10 AM
Find all posts by this user
rbtux Offline
Moderator
*****
Moderators

Posts: 1,847
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 33
Post: #9
RE: PHP safe_mode switch
seems like wrong permissions on the php.ini files ;-)
05-01-2009 02:14 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
marryroy01 Offline


Posts: 3
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
RE: PHP safe_mode switch
This is marry and I also think that there is something wrong in php.ini. You should check the first and then You can try it. It will work for you. All the best. It is not quite difficult so you can do it. If you have any problem then I will help you.
11-09-2009 09:48 PM
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)