Current time: 12-08-2019, 07:57 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)


Post Reply 
use branches in svn
Author Message
freinhard Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 39
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Exclamation use branches in svn
Hi!

I think it's not the best approach to do bugfixing and implement new features on trunk for a minor release like 1.0.1. Users experience could be better if a stable branch would be created after every major(aka new feature) release like 1.0 or 1.1 and leave that one for bugfixing and translation updates and release minor versions based on this branch from time to time. So in case there is a critical bug (like a phpmyadmin update or something in ispcp) you could grab the lates sources from svn (without getting new bugs from new, not yet heavily tested features Wink ).

Just my 2ct
05-08-2009 07:35 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
BeNe Offline
Moderator
*****
Moderators

Posts: 5,899
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation: 68
Post: #2
RE: use branches in svn
You are correct, we already talked about it the IRC-Channel!

Greez BeNe
05-08-2009 09:00 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
freinhard Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 39
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: use branches in svn
thank you guys for using the suggested name scheme!
08-21-2009 06:09 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)