Current time: 04-24-2024, 08:53 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)


Post Reply 
FastCGI: incomplete headers (0 bytes)
Author Message
BeNe Offline
Moderator
*****
Moderators

Posts: 5,899
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation: 68
Post: #11
RE: FastCGI: incomplete headers (0 bytes)
This could be the problem. Did you test this? --> http://www.isp-control.net/forum/running...ml#pid5394
06-01-2007 10:32 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
grungy Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 190
Joined: Dec 2006
Reputation: 6
Post: #12
RE: FastCGI: incomplete headers (0 bytes)
I can test that, no problem...


But when i send following commands:

Code:
# killall php5-cgi
# killall php5-cgi

The load after I kill all php-cgi is:

Code:
Cpu(s):  2.7% us,  0.5% sy,  0.0% ni, 96.7% id,  0.0% wa,  0.0% hi,  0.0% si

and the websites open instantly.....should I put a cron job to killall php-cgi processes every 5 minutes Smile ?
(This post was last modified: 06-01-2007 10:40 PM by grungy.)
06-01-2007 10:37 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
grungy Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 190
Joined: Dec 2006
Reputation: 6
Post: #13
RE: FastCGI: incomplete headers (0 bytes)
Quote:FastCGI - Many web site administrators and programmers are finding that the separation of web applications from the web server in FastCGI (and the simpler SCGI) has many desirable advantages over embedded interpreters (mod_perl, mod_php, etc.). This separation allows server and application processes to be restarted independently — an important consideration for busy web sites.


Yes this is cool you can killall php-cgi running processes while apache keeps on running.



How can I make a website not to run on php-cgi under ispCP?
06-01-2007 10:40 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
grungy Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 190
Joined: Dec 2006
Reputation: 6
Post: #14
RE: FastCGI: incomplete headers (0 bytes)
Read this:

Code:
There is a leak in FastCGI version of PHP, it does not clean up properly after
each request. Using system's limits to kill off memory hogging FastCGI process
would not be a good idea as this would result in 500 errors. You can use
PHP_FCGI_MAX_REQUESTS ENV variable instead. After processing number
of requests defined by this variable, the FastCGI PHP will exit nicely and a
new/fresh process will be created in its place. You will need to figure out how
many requests is safe for your FastCGI process to process before you have it
restarted.

-Simon


On Tue, 20 Apr 2004 21:55:14 +0200, Florian Effenberger wrote:

>Hello PHP users,
>
>I have PHP running as CGI with Apache 2.0.49 on Linux 2.4.26 here, and with
>a huge PHP file involving some diagram creation, I can "kill" the machine if
>I re-load the
>script for five seconds continuously. It soaks up all my memory and runs for
>nearly a minute multiple times. I've tried to limit that via php.ini's
>memory limit setting and via Apache's RLimitCPU/RLimitNPROC/RLimitMEM
>directive, but it does not seem to work.
>
>Do you have any idea of what can be done in order to protect myself from
>such an "attack"?
>
>Thanks!
>Florian


http://www.fastcgi.com/archives/fastcgi-...03382.html
(This post was last modified: 06-01-2007 11:12 PM by grungy.)
06-01-2007 11:09 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Daff Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 37
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
RE: FastCGI: incomplete headers (0 bytes)
BeNe Wrote:This could be the problem. Did you test this? --> http://www.isp-control.net/forum/running...ml#pid5394

Damn it I got a similar problem, so I don't think its the low memory stuff I posted. My problem is described in http://www.isp-control.net/forum/php4-pr...t-396.html but in this case even a killall doesn't fix it. Seems as if nobody is really able to help so I think I'll switch back to the PHP5 only Apache module. I'm beginning to doubt that fastcgi offers an improved security if it doesn't really run (producing meaningless logfiles) and is so difficult to handle.
06-10-2007 08:43 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
raphael Offline
Member
***

Posts: 474
Joined: Apr 2007
Reputation: 8
Post: #16
RE: FastCGI: incomplete headers (0 bytes)
If using Debian's PHP packages submit a bug report to http://bugs.debian.org/ (see info there)
06-10-2007 09:07 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
grungy Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 190
Joined: Dec 2006
Reputation: 6
Post: #17
RE: FastCGI: incomplete headers (0 bytes)
are you running php-cgi with apache-prefork or apache-worker?
06-10-2007 08:15 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)