Current time: 04-20-2024, 07:54 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

System overview
kilburn Offline
Development Team
Dev Team

System overview
I've just discovered VHCS/VHCS Omega and it has really attracted my interest because it's the first opensource control panel that worked well for me.

I wanted to learn some of it's internals before going further and using it at my company's production servers, so I've downloaded your SVN code and tried to get a basic picture of how the whole system works.

I'm a profficient php programmer with little perl skills and some solid C base, but it has proven as a bit challenging work. This is probably because there is no "out of code" documentation (or I've been unable to find it!), so I will post some things that I've managed to figure out, and some questions that I've been unable to answer.

The system is split in three very different "components":
  1. /gui: Written in php, it handles all the user interaction. Users actions are persisted on the vhcs database itself, but this part won't touch any system configuration directly.
    Edit (thanks ephigenie): MySql databases/users and ftp accounts are managed directly by the GUI. This is because its configurations are only database-based so there are no extra privileges needed.
  2. /engine: This is the part responsible of updating system configurations to match what the vhcs database says.
  3. /tools/daemon: This is the daemon responsible of isolating the engine component from the gui one. This is necessary because the engine must run as root user (it has to change system-level preferences), but it would be a security risk doing the same with the gui part.

What is all of this "query license server" stuff?