Current time: 02-26-2020, 01:11 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)


Post Reply 
NAT, subdomain and mysql
Author Message
mw72 Offline


Posts: 2
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
NAT, subdomain and mysql
Three suggestions for the new options ( capabilities ) vhcs omega

In most of cases it will be used at homes or in small firms, this is why it should meet users’ expectations.

1. Server behind NAT
There should be an option for configuration of the server with two addresses
a) real address (physical)
b) internet address
When server will be behind NAT real address will be used to configure vhost in apache or firewall setting , the internet addresses will be used for the bind configuration.

It is a solution for someone who has at home their own server connected via router with nat.

For example
(real address) 192.168.0.10 and ( internet address) 81.169.143.75

Anyone who has their server in the Internet will have the same real and internet
81.169.143.75 == 81.169.143.75

2. subdomain
Anyone who sets up a hosting server ( private, game clan, company or a project server ) owns a domain and would like for other users to have the possibility to set up a sub domain.

A new user should have the possibility to set up the first domain within our main domain, for example mw72.isp-control.net and/ or WWW, and later on should have the possibility to connect their own domains, for example mydomain-mw72.com

3. mysql server
mysql databases ver. 4 and 5. should be used. The most popular CMS operate version 4 or 5.

Mariusz
(This post was last modified: 03-03-2007 03:20 AM by mw72.)
03-03-2007 03:19 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RatS Offline
Project Leader
******

Posts: 1,854
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 17
Post: #2
RE: NAT, subdomain and mysql
to 1.: How to do? It has nothing to do with our software. You have to configure your Router with NAT forwarding or port forwarding

to 2.: If you would read our forum before posting a new thread, you would know that exactly this is planed.

to 3.: You can use either MySQL 4 or MySQL 5 not both at the same time. It's only a selection of the administrator not our. We support both.
03-03-2007 04:37 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
mw72 Offline


Posts: 2
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: NAT, subdomain and mysql
re to 1.
yes, i know ,but if You put internet address in your config serwer then:
in vhost in apache ist wrong becuse is not real address server and bind work correctly

and if You put local address in your config serwer then :
vhost is good and apache work good but bind propagate wrong IP - local IP :-(

re to 2
I is taken for reading already

re to 3
not or , Both simultaneously,4 and 5 in one server.
03-03-2007 04:58 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RatS Offline
Project Leader
******

Posts: 1,854
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 17
Post: #4
RE: NAT, subdomain and mysql
hmm, if you have a good solution for the first problem, please commit it to us.

In running both MySQL 4 and 5 I don't see an advantage. 5 is almost fully downwards compatible.
03-03-2007 05:59 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
BioALIEN Offline
Public Relations Officer
*****
Dev Team

Posts: 620
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 5
Post: #5
RE: NAT, subdomain and mysql
1) I think this is a special case that is not popular by demand. But you are welcome to contribute a patch for consideration.

2) Subdomain capability is almost a necessity of every modern control panel if it is to be taken seriously. Otherwise, it will probably be considered a panel for kids.

3) -1 to the idea of using 2 MySQL setups. This is wrong and waste of resources = bad idea! Same thing applies to having two versions of PHP directly into one server.
03-03-2007 08:36 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
frontline3k Offline


Posts: 2
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: NAT, subdomain and mysql
Hello
RatS Wrote:hmm, if you have a good solution for the first problem, please commit it to us.
What about: http://www.isp-control.net/forum/debian-...t-422.html ?

Have a nice day Wink
04-26-2007 12:11 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RatS Offline
Project Leader
******

Posts: 1,854
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 17
Post: #7
RE: NAT, subdomain and mysql
This is a bad idea; Mixing Ports with non-IPs. Apache will warn you!

You can use it for your NAT and write a HowTo (or extend the existing), but it will not included as default!
04-26-2007 02:48 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)