Current time: 08-11-2022, 08:52 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)


Poll: Is this HowTo helpful ?
Yes it is!
No, not really!
[Show Results]
 
Post Reply 
[HowTo] Get some nice Server graphs with Munin
Author Message
BeNe Offline
Moderator
*****
Moderators

Posts: 5,899
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation: 68
Post: #11
RE: [HowTo] Get some nice Server graphs with Munin
ephigenie Wrote:however in fact you can munin run on more than one node and send the results to one central host.

Really ? I´m not sure about this function. Could be interesting.
But I would prefer there cacti then.
06-14-2007 05:47 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ephigenie Offline
Project Leader
*******
Administrators

Posts: 1,578
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 15
Post: #12
RE: [HowTo] Get some nice Server graphs with Munin
mh I'm on my way to implement monitoring of my serverfarm with zabbix.
I think i can post a howto afterwords.

Zabbix is a really nice looking monitoring & reporting application.
It has its own daemon and is really fast.

If you're going to use munin with more than 5 hosts and 10graphs each then a small server is generating every 5 minutes 50 graphs which takes a few minutes (between 2-4) so the system will get very busy Sad
Thats why i was looking for alternatives - and zabbix can use a gsm-modem or other services to notify you, if something goes wrong - and thats what's really cool on it Smile
06-14-2007 07:09 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
BeNe Offline
Moderator
*****
Moderators

Posts: 5,899
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation: 68
Post: #13
RE: [HowTo] Get some nice Server graphs with Munin
we use Nagios for this Wink
But a HowTo about Zabbix would be very very nice....
06-14-2007 07:27 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Smallserver Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 38
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
RE: [HowTo] Get some nice Server graphs with Munin
Very nice howto!
However, I needed to change /etc/munin/munin.conf:

# a simple host tree
#[localhost.localdomain]
[www.mydomain.tld]
address 127.0.0.1
use_node_name yes
address 127.0.0.1
use_node_name yes


Otherwise I ended up reading my stats in http://www.mydomain.tld/munin/localhost.localdomain


Regards,
Herman
(This post was last modified: 01-26-2008 04:50 AM by Smallserver.)
01-26-2008 04:41 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Binford8000 Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 24
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
RE: [HowTo] Get some nice Server graphs with Munin
Is it possible to monitor Apache with munin as well? The included plugins don' generate anything (maybe only with Apache-prefork).
01-29-2008 02:12 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Janko Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 189
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 1
Post: #16
RE: [HowTo] Get some nice Server graphs with Munin
Binford8000 Wrote:Is it possible to monitor Apache with munin as well? The included plugins don' generate anything (maybe only with Apache-prefork).

sure, but you need the apache modul "status"
01-29-2008 02:19 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Binford8000 Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 24
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
RE: [HowTo] Get some nice Server graphs with Munin
Of course I loaded this module...

Edit for further readers:
You have to configure the mod_status Module in the apache.conf
(This post was last modified: 02-06-2008 03:54 AM by Binford8000.)
01-29-2008 02:39 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
zekquel Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 34
Joined: Nov 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
RE: [HowTo] Get some nice Server graphs with Munin
have you got any idea how much RAM and processor do munin require ? i mean, i have about 80 MBs of RAM left, and the processor is pretty much free, so it won't be a problem. the RAM is a little bit.
03-01-2008 06:22 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
BeNe Offline
Moderator
*****
Moderators

Posts: 5,899
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation: 68
Post: #19
RE: [HowTo] Get some nice Server graphs with Munin
Well, there is no really number. Munin does only create every 5min via Cron Job the Graphs. Threre is more CPU than RAM needed. Try it out. But it should work also on Low System.

Greez BeNe
03-01-2008 07:36 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
zekquel Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 34
Joined: Nov 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #20
RE: [HowTo] Get some nice Server graphs with Munin
BeNe Wrote:Well, there is no really number. Munin does only create every 5min via Cron Job the Graphs. Threre is more CPU than RAM needed. Try it out. But it should work also on Low System.

Greez BeNe

okay BeNe, thanks. i will try it tomorrow
03-02-2008 01:08 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)