Current time: 02-26-2021, 05:29 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)


Post Reply 
Page loads in random spurts?
Author Message
andars Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 12
Joined: Apr 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Page loads in random spurts?
I have an odd problem. Pages that use php seem to load in a random spurt fashion. What I mean by "spurt fashion" is it will take 2-3 seconds before it loads the first php script, such as the index of a phpbb forum. Afterwards, every page on the forum loads instantly. Static pages, such as html pages, always load instantly. ISPCP always seems to load instantly as well despite it using php scripts. I don't think it's an issue with my computer or connection setup as I have not had this problem before. It's difficult to explain, so I linked the example sites.


Some examples of what I'm talking about are:

http://www.game-sales.info/forums
http://www.burntferret.com/forums
http://www.ravenholt.info/test.php

My computer specs are:

1.5 mbps upload
A64 3700+
1 GB DDR433 RAM
2x74GB 10k RPM (WD Raptors) in Raid0 using mdadm
(This post was last modified: 05-01-2007 06:13 AM by andars.)
05-01-2007 06:01 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
mata Offline
French Corner Moderator
*****
Moderators

Posts: 71
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
RE: Page loads in random spurts?
The way i see this:

http://dnsreport.com/tools/dnsreport.ch?...sales.info

you have a dns problem rather then the webserver not processing the php

wrong dns like this can cause much time the first load.

Mata
05-01-2007 06:44 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
andars Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 12
Joined: Apr 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: Page loads in random spurts?
The DNS errors are just referring to only having one DNS server. I don't believe that is the problem.
05-01-2007 06:47 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
mata Offline
French Corner Moderator
*****
Moderators

Posts: 71
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: Page loads in random spurts?
the parent nameserver is not reporting the same as your nameserver.

you say it yourself .. first time i load a php .. dns is only on first time you go to a website ..
05-01-2007 06:54 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
andars Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 12
Joined: Apr 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: Page loads in random spurts?
Yes, but http://www.ravenholt.info/test.php does the same thing. Ravenholt.info has no major DNS errors and the parent dns server is set correctly. My first thought was DNS as well.
(This post was last modified: 05-01-2007 07:03 AM by andars.)
05-01-2007 06:57 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ephigenie Offline
Project Leader
*******
Administrators

Posts: 1,578
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 15
Post: #6
RE: Page loads in random spurts?
hm i see you got fast disks - but your system is reacting slow...
don't have a clue about what happened on your system - but i can tell you what's causing a little delay :

the fastcgi process has to be started first. Thats taking a moment. But usually on new systems its up in <1s . your system is by far fast enough to do it like that.

If you don't know what else to do - just go into your /etc/apache2/mods-enabled/fastcgi.conf and set the idle + kill timeout bigger than the php process won't get stopped so quick if nothing happens.
05-01-2007 07:40 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
andars Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 12
Joined: Apr 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: Page loads in random spurts?
Thanks for the help. I'll keep searching around and see what I can find. Your mention of php-cgi gives me a general direction towards the problem. This is frustrating Tongue
(This post was last modified: 05-01-2007 08:36 AM by andars.)
05-01-2007 08:07 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
andars Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 12
Joined: Apr 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
RE: Page loads in random spurts?
I changed singleThreshold to 0 to keep the process persistent. However, I'm afraid that the more sites I add the more and more processes it will create lol. I asked on the debian forums, hopefully they can help.
05-02-2007 02:29 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)