Current time: 04-27-2024, 01:02 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Reverse DNS not working
Shayne Offline

Reverse DNS not working
Hiya

I am picking up certain mails are not coming through because of HELO or DNS Mx setting problems. A little research and I think its because of the dns on my box.

When I type host test.mydomain.com I get the following a good response but when I type the host 11.11.11.11 then I get:
not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)

What steps must I check or how do I setup the dns correctly.

Just as a point of interest I am new to dns.. and the test.mydomian.com is not regitered anywhere its just a domain I thought up for this box which has a fixed IP.

Regards
(This post was last modified: 06-12-2009 10:59 PM by Shayne.)
06-12-2009 10:58 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
MasterTH Offline

RE: Reverse DNS not working
it must be registered anywhere to give the correct answer to the mail-servers.

when the domain isn't registered anywhere the mailservers you try to send mails think that your server is an spam-sender and will reject any mails that come from you
06-12-2009 11:02 PM
Shayne Offline

(06-12-2009 11:02 PM)MasterTH Wrote:  it must be registered anywhere to give the correct answer to the mail-servers.

when the domain isn't registered anywhere the mailservers you try to send mails think that your server is an spam-sender and will reject any mails that come from you

Some mail is getting through Sad

I am just having problems with certain people.

This box is a DNS server hosting 3 registered domains. All work fine and mail in general works from all the domains. just certain mails when being delivered to me get bounced with HELO & DNS MX settings.
06-12-2009 11:12 PM
kilburn Offline
Development Team
Dev Team

Quote:Some mail is getting through