Current time: 01-22-2020, 02:38 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)


Post Reply 
Without fastcgi
Author Message
Daff Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 37
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #41
RE: Without fastcgi
ok, me again Wink I think its an Apache Problem but I don't know what to change.
Here the difference.
Snippet of ps -aux from the VPS I'm struggling with:

root 27846 0.0 0.3 64400 3168 ? Ss 11:53 0:00 /usr/sbin/apache2 -k start
www-data 27848 0.0 0.2 64132 2360 ? S 11:53 0:00 /usr/sbin/apache2 -k start
www-data 27849 0.0 0.2 64132 2132 ? S 11:53 0:00 /usr/sbin/fcgi-pm -k start
vu2000 27850 0.0 0.4 53740 4832 ? Ss 11:53 0:00 /usr/bin/php4-cgi
www-data 27852 0.0 0.2 286768 3116 ? Sl 11:53 0:00 /usr/sbin/apache2 -k start
www-data 27854 0.0 0.2 286768 3120 ? Sl 11:53 0:00 /usr/sbin/apache2 -k start
vu2000 27890 0.0 0.1 53740 1900 ? S 11:53 0:00 /usr/bin/php4-cgi
vu2000 27891 0.0 0.1 53740 1900 ? S 11:53 0:00 /usr/bin/php4-cgi

That are 260 Megabyte RAM for an APACHE process (a simple script gives an Average of 149.0 MB per Apache process / thread)?!
Here the usage before starting the HTTPD (which still can be lowered by stopping Bind etc.):
188.496 MB
After starting:
634.727 MB
Thats a lot I'd say Sad

On my current system:

www-data 32607 0.0 0.1 22868 10628 ? S 13:39 0:00 /usr/sbin/apache2 -k start -DSSL
www-data 32612 0.0 0.1 23148 10960 ? S 13:39 0:00 /usr/sbin/apache2 -k start -DSSL
www-data 32614 0.3 0.1 23032 11000 ? S 13:39 0:03 /usr/sbin/apache2 -k start -DSSL
www-data 32725 0.3 0.1 23180 10848 ? S 13:39 0:03 /usr/sbin/apache2 -k start -DSSL

Seems to be about 20 Megs. (the script displays an average of 7 MB per Apache Process / Thread). Very strange. 10 times as much RAM usage?
(This post was last modified: 05-25-2007 11:36 PM by Daff.)
05-25-2007 10:01 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
BeNe Offline
Moderator
*****
Moderators

Posts: 5,899
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation: 68
Post: #42
RE: Without fastcgi
Yeah - my Apache2 need 500MB RAM...
I will take a look at the config, this is too much.

Here is my current config:

Code:
# prefork MPM
# StartServers: number of server processes to start
# MinSpareServers: minimum number of server processes which are kept spare
# MaxSpareServers: maximum number of server processes which are kept spare
# MaxClients: maximum number of server processes allowed to start
# MaxRequestsPerChild: maximum number of requests a server process serves
<IfModule mpm_prefork_module>
    StartServers          5
    MinSpareServers       5
    MaxSpareServers      10
    MaxClients          150
    MaxRequestsPerChild   0
</IfModule>

# worker MPM
# StartServers: initial number of server processes to start
# MaxClients: maximum number of simultaneous client connections
# MinSpareThreads: minimum number of worker threads which are kept spare
# MaxSpareThreads: maximum number of worker threads which are kept spare
# ThreadsPerChild: constant number of worker threads in each server process
# MaxRequestsPerChild: maximum number of requests a server process serves
<IfModule mpm_worker_module>
    StartServers          2
    MaxClients          150
    MinSpareThreads      25
    MaxSpareThreads      75
    ThreadsPerChild      25
    MaxRequestsPerChild   0
</IfModule>
(This post was last modified: 05-25-2007 10:12 PM by BeNe.)
05-25-2007 10:05 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Z4P Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 62
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #43
RE: Without fastcgi
Jeay this is the same as my problem. I got also 512 burstable ram.
05-26-2007 12:10 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Daff Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 37
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #44
RE: Without fastcgi
Hmpf... I'm searching for the problem hope somebody can help me. I'm a big fan of virtualization technology (actually I can build a multi server environment on a single hardware node... and if the resources don't suffice just move a VPS to another node and assign more). Its becoming more and more important and I think ISPCP has to run on such low resource machines (I don't want to assign a 1 Gig RAM machine just to host 5 or 10 small static web pages with ISPCP).
05-26-2007 12:52 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Z4P Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 62
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #45
RE: Without fastcgi
I don't think it is ment that is uses so much ram. but it is really akward. 500 Mb is too much i got it too on a fresh install on my vps now.
05-26-2007 12:56 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ephigenie Offline
Project Leader
*******
Administrators

Posts: 1,578
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 15
Post: #46
RE: Without fastcgi
perhaps you can try lowering the threads and forked processes for the mpm-worker ?
05-26-2007 04:23 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Daff Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 37
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #47
RE: Without fastcgi
Please look here:
http://www.isp-control.net/forum/running...t-683.html
I've collected some memory decreasing stuff for VPS or other low resource systems.
05-27-2007 04:54 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
NetVista Offline
Newbie
*

Posts: 7
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 1
Post: #48
RE: Without fastcgi
Had any one managed to run ispcp without fastcgi ? I have plenty of ram but i preffer not to use fastcgi at all. I will go ahead and suggest a release candidate without fastcgi Big Grin

EDIT: BTW this is a fresh install with only 1 domain:
---------------------------------------------------------------
top - 16:12:03 up 2:11, 1 user, load average: 0.00, 0.00, 0.00
Tasks: 72 total, 1 running, 71 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
Cpu0 : 0.0%us, 0.0%sy, 0.0%ni,100.0%id, 0.0%wa, 0.0%hi, 0.0%si, 0.0%st
Cpu1 : 0.0%us, 0.0%sy, 0.0%ni,100.0%id, 0.0%wa, 0.0%hi, 0.0%si, 0.0%st
Mem: 2068080k total, 613332k used, 1454748k free, 62900k buffers
Swap: 2650684k total, 0k used, 2650684k free, 472248k cached
---------------------------------------------------------------
(This post was last modified: 06-07-2007 04:12 AM by NetVista.)
06-07-2007 04:01 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
blocker Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 123
Joined: Apr 2007
Reputation: 2
Post: #49
RE: Without fastcgi
Mem: 483M Active, 196M Inact, 215M Wired, 44M Cache, 110M Buf, 48M Free
Swap: 2002M Total, 1492K Used, 2001M Free

this is mine with 8 domain running without fastcgi and virtualization
system running with :
- MailScanner
- SpamAssassin
- Clamav
06-07-2007 04:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Z4P Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 62
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #50
RE: Without fastcgi
I suggest you follow that tutorial from Daff, it really lower your ram usage.
06-07-2007 04:05 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)